About Us

Where is Fire District 5?

Spokane County Fire District 5 is located on the northwest plains. We have a district map available at the main office. Roughly, the districtís boundary begins at the intersection of the Lincoln County border and the Spokane County border at Long Lake. It runs south to Thorpe Rd., east to Wood Rd., north to Coulee-Hite Rd., east to Craig Rd., north to Four Mound Bluff overlooking the Spokane River, and then northwest along the bluff to its origin. Within Fire District 5 are single family and multi-family residential dwellings, rural forested lands, agricultural areas, dams, railways and a state highway. Providing emergency services within this growing and evolving area is a complex and demanding business.

We cover approximately 90 square miles! The District currently has two stations. The main office, Station 51, is located at 17217 W. Four Mound Road, Nine Mile Falls. Station 52 is located on the NE corner of Charles Rd. and Valley Rd. These stations are unmanned as we are an all-volunteer fire district. The district administrator works part-time for the district in Station 51. The office is open by appointment only Monday-Friday 8-5.

In the last few years we have installed a 3000 gallon underground water storage on the corner of Wood Rd and Coulee Hite Rd to help serve the south end of the district.

How Many People Live In The District?

The resident population of Fire District 5 is about 2,000 people.

How Many Alarms Do We Respond To?

The District responds to approximately 100 alarms a year. About 60% of these are emergency medical alarms. The rest are wildland fires, structure fires, car fires, and other types of alarms, including mutual aid calls to Lincoln County Fire District #4, Spokane County Fire Districtís 3, 9, and 10, and Stevens County Fire District #1.

Special Needs?

If you or one of your family members or neighbors has any special issues/needs that Spokane County Fire District 5 should know about, please, let us know. We will need to have your address and phone number along with your statement

A three-member Board of Fire Commissioners governs the District. This Board meets once monthly on the 2nd Tuesday at 6:00 p.m at the Fire Districtís Administration office in Station 51 located at 17217 W. Four Mound Rd. Nine Mile Falls, WA 99026.